Report

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING, 9th May 1987

The Annual General Meeting of the Society was held in the Reardon-Smith Lecture Theatre, National Museum of Wales, Cardiff at 12 noon, with 70 members present. Mr D. E. Allen, retiring President, opened the meeting in the chair, thanking the Trustees of the Museum for the opportunity to hold this meeting in the impressive setting of the lecture theatre.

Apologies for absence were read, and it was noted with particular regret that Dr J. G. Dony was unable to attend; a card of good wishes, dymuniadau gorau, was signed for him by those present. The Minutes of the 1986 Annual General Meeting, as published in *Watsonia*, 16: 361–362 (1987), were approved unanimously and signed by the President.

REPORT OF COUNCIL

The President reviewed the year with a summary of B.S.B.I. events in 1986 as reported by Council, including the sesquicentenary celebrations; publication of another volume in the B.S.B.I. Handbook series and *The Botanists*, and the two conferences held during the year. The lower recruitment in the year was attributed to the increased subscription rate, but the year had been notable for the large sum in bequests left to the Society. Adoption of the Report was proposed by Mr R. G. Ellis, seconded by Mr B. A. Gale, and passed unanimously.

TREASURER'S REPORT AND ACCOUNTS

The Treasurer, presenting his Report, commented on the large total of bequests, from the late Mrs Barbara Welch and from others, amounting to a sum unprecedented in the history of the Society. Mr Walpole suggested that in leaving these bequests the donors had shown their appreciation of the work and aims of the B.S.B.I. Adoption of the Report was proposed by Mr P. C. Hall, seconded by Mr E. F. Greenwood, and unanimously approved.

ELECTION OF PRESIDENT

Introducing Professor C. A. Stace, President-elect, Mr Allen recalled that Professor Stace, who had given long service to the Society as Editor and to botany as lecturer and author, now held a personal Chair in Taxonomy at the University of Leicester – a stronghold of systematic botany in scientific academia. Professor Stace then took the Chair, to the applause of the meeting, and looking ahead in these times of rapid change, as President he suggested that the Society should take positive steps to ensure that changes would be in the direction that we wanted, and that we should not allow the Society to drift with circumstances. Thanking the voluntary Officers for their considerable work for the Society, Professor Stace particularly mentioned the retiring President and Hon. Historian, to whom the Society was indebted for his book, The Botanists, which had been acclaimed outside the Society (but in spite of this had met with a disappointing response from members, who should be encouraged to purchase this most interesting and readable history of the Society through the past 150 years). Professor Stace also warmly thanked all the Officers, and the Editors, notably Dr R. J. Gornall, Receiving Editor of Watsonia, and Mr R. G. Ellis, Editor of B.S.B.I. News – which under the imprint of his predecessor, Mr E. D. Wiggins, had become an established publication of the Society much appreciated by members - who had been responsible for its new format. Professor Stace also thanked the other Editors, Committee Secretaries and all members of the Committees who undertook considerable and valuable work in running the Society's affairs.

ELECTION OF VICE-PRESIDENTS

From the chair, Professor Stace proposed the election of three Vice-Presidents as nominated by Council: Dr H. J. M. Bowen, Dr F. H. Perring and Dr A. J. Richards, all active and well-known members of the Society. Their election was approved by all present with applause.

RE-ELECTION OF HONORARY GENERAL SECRETARY AND HONORARY TREASURER

Mrs M. Briggs and Mr M. Walpole, officers in the posts of Honorary General Secretary and Honorary Treasurer for 15 and 16 years respectively were eligible and willing for re-election. The President, with warm thanks, proposed their re-election from the chair and this was carried by the meeting with applause.

ELECTION OF COUNCIL MEMBERS

In accordance with Rule 10, nominations had been received for Miss M. E. Young, Mr A. J. Byfield, and Mr B. A. Gale; they were elected unanimously.

ELECTION OF HONORARY MEMBER

Council had proposed Dr W. A. Sledge; this was seconded at the meeting by Dr F. H. Perring, who outlined Dr Sledge's long and valuable contribution to Yorkshire botany, and to the Society as B.S.B.I. Recorder and Editor. His election was approved with applause.

RE-ELECTION OF HONORARY AUDITORS

The Honorary Treasurer, saying that we were greatly indebted to the Honorary Auditors for the excellent service given to the Society, proposed that Grant Thornton be re-elected as our Honorary Auditors. This was seconded by Mr D. E. Allen and carried unanimously. The President would write to express our appreciation.

ANY OTHER BUSINESS

The President reported with regret the death of Professor D. H. Valentine, past President of the Society; the Honorary General Secretary would write to Mrs Valentine on behalf of the Society. Mr J. F. M. Cannon then spoke on the new admission charges at the British Museum (Natural History) and outlined the procedure for members visiting the Department of Botany. The Honorary General Secretary announced a field meeting change of date; an exhibition on plants of churchyards; the availability of corrigenda slips for Handbooks; Linnean Society of London expeditions to Sweden and to Lapland in 1988; requested the address of an ex-member, and any spare copies of *Planting Native Trees & Shrubs* by K. & G. Beckett (1975) – now out of print. Mr R. G. Ellis announced programme plans for the afternoon and evening, and the meeting closed at 12.47 hours.

M. Briggs